“Natsume’s Book of Friends” Season 5 Blu-Ray/DVD Special Features Include Exclusive Anime Episodes

“Natsume Yujin-Cho Go” Volume 1 (On Sale Now)

Contains Episode 1 (Unchanging Form) and Episode 2 (Mischievous Rain)

* Blu-Ray Complete Limited Edition / ANZX12531 (6,200 yen + tax)

* DVD Complete Limited Edition / ANZB12531 (5,200 yen + tax)


The first volume of recently-concluded TV anime series “Natsume Yujin-Cho Go”, the fifth season of the popular “Natsume’s Book of Friends”, was released on Blu-Ray and DVD on December 21st, 2016.

Yuki Midorikawa’s manga series “Natsume’s Book of Friends” made its debut in 2003, with the first of several periodic anime adaptations premiering in 2008. The humorous series follows the adventures of Takashi Natsume, a boy with the ability to see spirits, and his inugami spirit protector and mentor, Nyanko-sensei.

The anime’s fifth season will be released in five volumes, each with different bonus features. Volume 1 includes a drama CD and the opportunity to preorder tickets for a live event on May 7th, 2017. Volume 2 comes with a CD featuring a discussion between series voice actors Kazuhiko Inoue, Kazuma Horie, and Hiroshi Kamiya, while Volume 3 will be accompanied by a character song CD for main character Takashi Natsume. Volumes 4 and 5 will each include an exclusive anime episode, the details of which are below.


* Volume 4

“Hitoyo Sakazuki”

Plot: Natsume rescues married spirits Hizuchi and Hatsuna from a one-horned spirit trying to consume spring water to increase its spiritual power. The spirits travel around making sake cups known as “Hitoyo Sakazuki” (“One Night Sake Cups”) that make the drink poured in them taste amazing, but disappear after one use. The next day, Natsume visits the couple with Nyanko-sensei, who wants to try sake from the cups.


* Volume 5

“Yuugi no Utage”

Plot: Nyanko-sensei is excited to attend a strange party. Suspicious, Natsume follows him to discover a disused house occupied by a bruise-covered spirit named Yuuzuru. Natsume calls out to Yuuzuru, who replies by stating that the spirit is the next to be “it” in a game of tag. The game has been in progress at the house for days to determine the winner of the valley’s tag championship.

The sixth season of “Natsume’s Book of Friends”, known as “Natsume Yujin-Cho Roku”, will premiere in 2017.


“Natsume Yujin-Cho Go” Volume (On Sale January 25th, 2017)

Contains Episode 3 (The Letter From the Exorcist), Episode 4 (Shadow of Linked Chains), Episode 5 (It Must Not Be Bound)

* Blu-Ray Complete Limited Edition / ANZX12533 (7,200 yen + tax)

* DVD Complete Limited Edition / ANZB12533 (6,200 yen + tax)



Natsume’s Book of Friends Anime



Natsume’s Book of Friends Anime (Twitter)



Package Information Site