3D CGI-Animated Music Video Released for 22/7’s Debut Single “Boku wa Sonzai Shiteinakatta”

“Boku wa Sonzai Shiteinakatta” music video

© 22/7 PROJECT


A 3D CGI-animated music video has been released for “Boku wa Sonzai Shiteinakatta”, the debut single from digital idol group 22/7.

The digital idol group, created by Yasushi Akimoto, Aniplex, and Sony Music Records, features character designs created by some of the biggest names in the anime industry. The characters’ voice actors were selected from an open audition pool of over 10,000 entrants. The group’s debut single will be released on September 20th, with an anime series to follow.

The music video was produced by Tatsunoko Production and directed by Ryo Ando, who previously handled storyboarding and production for the opening animation of “Tiger & Bunny: The Rising” and made his directorial debut with TV anime series “Interviews with Monster Girls”. Yusuke Takeda (“Sword Art Online”, “Ghost in the Shell” series) served as art director, with Yoshihiro Otobe (“Pretty Rhythm” series) as CGI director. Animation character design was handled by Yukiko Horiguchi, known for her work on “K-On!”, “Tamago Market”, and “Lucky Star”, in addition to serving as one of 22/7’s character designers.

The video’s dance scenes were performed by each character’s voice actor, motion captured and rendered in CGI. The high-tech approach allows for the individual personalities of the idols to appear in motion, bringing concept art and illustrations to life.

On September 21st, the day following the release of “Boku wa Sonzai Shiteinakatta”, a free live event will be held at the Fountain Plaza at Ikebukuro’s Sunshine City. Following the live performance, the group will hold its first high-five event, allowing fans to congratulate the members up close.


The video is fully animated in 3D CGI.

© 22/7 PROJECT

The dance scenes are motion-captured performances of the group’s voice actors.

© 22/7 PROJECT

Debut single “Boku wa Sonzai Shiteinakatta”

© 22/7 PROJECT

The voice actors of 22/7

© 22/7 PROJECT



22/7, “Boku wa Sonzai Shiteinakatta”